Deer Creek Summer-run
~ Ken McLeod 1923 ~

Ken McLeod with Dry Fly Caught 10# Deer Creek Summer-run Steelhead (photo & story appeard in Field & Stream Magazine Aug. issue 1924, and then another story in the 1926 Outdoor Life) Magazine. He began fly fishing for summer-run steelhead in 1920 on the North Fork Stillaguamish River, long before the golden era of the 1940s and his cronies of the 1930s. His first experience on the "Stilly" for sea-run cutthroat came in 1918. He was the first fly angler who was successfully casting dry flies catching "countless" summer-runs in Deer Creek and in front of his Oso Camp on his North Fork property (which he purchased in Sept. 1928). "No one ever knew Deer Creek better than he when it came to fly fishing." Deer Creek was closed to fishing in 1935 to help protect its nativer summer-runs.


all rights reserved